Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Upgrading firmware

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 24, 2012
    Posts
    343
    Thanks
    39
    Thanked 34 Times in 21 Posts

    Default Upgrading firmware

    I am trying to upgrade the firmware in an astro spectra. I have the cvn, srib, etc. However when I call motorola to purchase refresh key all they can say is the radio is no longer supported. Is there a certain part number that I need to give them? I have a MOL account so if I have correct part number can I order it there?


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 05, 2012
    Location
    True North Strong and Free
    Posts
    334
    Thanks
    2,401
    Thanked 624 Times in 271 Posts
    Country: Albania

    Default

    They do not support the radio... Therefore the firmware is not available either... Even if you had the correct part number they would still not sell it to you.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 24, 2012
    Posts
    343
    Thanks
    39
    Thanked 34 Times in 21 Posts

    Default

    Maybe I don't understand the process. I have the cvn from this site. Is that not what is used for the firmware? I just need to buy the refresh key, or whatever it's called.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 13, 2012
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    396
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 92 Times in 48 Posts

    Default

    You need a refresh key/ibutton. A refresh key for an astro25 radio will work. If you are set on that contact a Motorola dealer. I will run you a minimum of 75 dollars for each "use" you purchase.

    Jason

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts
    4,961
    Thanks
    5,179
    Thanked 8,793 Times in 2,413 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    Yes. What JMR061 said. Order a refresh for the ASTRO25 series platform. XTL5000. The refresh ibutton is not platform/radio/serial/model specific. You could even use it to flash a MTS2000 if you wanted.

    Unlike Motorola, the Mars Depot is also willing to service legacy equipment, with proper hardware/CVN/iButton.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 24, 2012
    Posts
    343
    Thanks
    39
    Thanked 34 Times in 21 Posts

    Default

    I called a dealer they told me they needed serial number, desired flash code, etc. They also told me it would be a month before I received the refresh key. I was under the impression that I could purchase a key with 10 flashes and use it as I needed it. Mars you have done a lot for me. Actually I save money by using you. Just some times I need them done quick. The customs folks aren't the most efficient at their jobs. You get all my stuff that can be done remotely.
    Last edited by gjhamilton; Aug 06, 2013 at 11:24 PM.