Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: xtl5000 w5 TX INH on Keyup ? Anyone seen this ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 05, 2012
    Posts
    239
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 90 Times in 59 Posts

    Default xtl5000 w5 TX INH on Keyup ? Anyone seen this ?

    Seen this on two XTL5000's with W5 heads where you get a TX INH on the display during transmit.
    Firmware is probably way out of date but wanted to make sure a firmware update would resolve this.

    Had looked at the codeplug on the other radio and nothing seemed to be in the programming .


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 05, 2012
    Posts
    239
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 90 Times in 59 Posts

    Default

    just a quick note
    The two radios I have seen this on were dual control W Series heads on an XTL5000.
    The one radio I removed the rear head and it still had the mess "TX INH" come up during transmit.
    Someone did look through the codeplug for aliases and anything else that would normally cause this.

    Suspect it's an artifact of the firmware version and CPS used to program them. Believe the firmware was in the 8sh range so not very current.

    Not going to flash since the customer has not complained or even remarked about it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 23, 2012
    Posts
    148
    Thanks
    110
    Thanked 124 Times in 54 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    Radio Configuration -> Radio Wide -> Advanced-> Ignition Switch. You should find its set to TX inhibit, or PTT TX inhibit. or, apply some +12V to the ignition wire. I'm not sure why a customer would not complain about not being able to transmit.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 05, 2012
    Posts
    239
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 90 Times in 59 Posts

    Default

    Actually these transmit just fine ...just has that message come up on the screen with PTT.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 19, 2013
    Location
    In Your Network
    Posts
    2,754
    Thanks
    3,171
    Thanked 2,011 Times in 1,014 Posts
    Country: Holy See

    Default

    The codeplug is corrupt. This has happened for some reason because either it started life as an O5 and was converted to a W5 or vice versa or drag and dropped from a different model. Had this with a few from some XTLs in ambulance packages. Do a firmware upgrade and start from scratch with a default codeplug and you should be good to go. We never did figure out exactly where or why the problem occurred, just scratched our heads over it until we decided to cut to the chase and start over.

    And yes, the radios worked fine, but every time you keyed the darn mike it said TX inhibit, no matter WHAT the settings where, and no matter WHAT type of control head you had on it.
    "God as my witness" - Jeremy Dewitte - Felon

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to com501 For This Useful Post:

    Scratchy (Mar 23, 2015)