Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: MCS 2000 900 mhz programming

  1. #1
    Dean No Longer Registered

    Default MCS 2000 900 mhz programming

    OK. I am finishing my 900 repeater and in the process of programming the radios. When Iam entering the repeater output freq the box turns red. Like its a out of band program. The radios are already programmed with 900 repeaters and work perfectly.
    MCS 2000 type 3 radios
    CPS R02.03.0. to the best of my memory. I have programmed several others MCS radios with this program and a moto RIB.
    Thanks
    Dean


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 13, 2012
    Posts
    169
    Thanks
    107
    Thanked 14 Times in 9 Posts

    Default

    Dean, has your CPS been modded to do out of band properly? It doesn't sound like it.

  3. #3
    Dean No Longer Registered

    Default CPS

    Quote Originally Posted by Jay View Post
    Dean, has your CPS been modded to do out of band properly? It doesn't sound like it.
    I didn't think it needed to be. The radio covers this portion of the 900 band.
    When doing the CDM series I have modded the CPS and also done some code plugs. I see there is a mod for the MCS 2000 cps ,but I was of the understanding it was to program the radio out of band.
    Thanks
    Dean

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 13, 2012
    Posts
    169
    Thanks
    107
    Thanked 14 Times in 9 Posts

    Default

    Factory ranges are:

    896-902 MHz (tx)
    935-941 MHz (tx and rx)

    If you are outside of those, you'll need to mod your CPS.

  5. #5
    Dean No Longer Registered

    Default

    Yep.
    919.000 transmitt.
    Off to the Hex editer to get r done!!!
    Thanks Jay for you help. I thought the radio went from 896-941. It is 935-941.
    Thanks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 13, 2012
    Posts
    169
    Thanks
    107
    Thanked 14 Times in 9 Posts

    Default

    You may have trouble getting it to lock at 919 MHz. I've not have success personally, but they will work at 927. Let us know.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts
    4,906
    Thanks
    4,966
    Thanked 8,449 Times in 2,326 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    Hams need to pull their heads out of their asses and come up with a realistic 900 MHz bandplan. There's no off-the-shelf commercial radios which work with existing "recommended" input/outputs.

    Everyone is running 902-904 input and 926-928 outputs. It makes the most sense. But most things in ham radio do not make sense. Including interfacing a Quantar to a CAT750 repeater controller.

  8. #8
    Alpha's Avatar
    Alpha is offline T S - Moderator
    CS Forums $upporter
    Join Date
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location
    Directly above the center of the earth.
    Posts
    2,780
    Thanks
    1,235
    Thanked 1,531 Times in 738 Posts
    Country: Christmas Island

    Default

    They have, to some extent. The more technically "hip" states in the U.S. have adopted a dual band plan with the old 18 and newer 25 MHz splits. The legacy 18 MHz band plans are still supported but no one wants to use them these days. Everyone is using the 25 MHz band plans that allow inputs at 902 and outputs at 927 so people can conveniently use modified commercial 900 MHz equipment that will easily go a couple of MHz out of band into the ham bands.