Thread: GTR 8000 Single site trunking needing site controller?

123 No Longer Registered

Default GTR 8000 Single site trunking needing site controller?

If I am setting up GTR 8000s for single site IR trunking. Is the GCP 8000 still required? Or can I IR trunk the GTR 8000s without the site controller present like I could on the Quantars?

Thanks

I'm not sure you can do that. There really isn't a "SMARTNET" type single site environment like there used to be. If anything, you'd be running an IR (called an ISR in Astro25 lingo) in site trunking mode.

Astro25 LE is the smallest P25 trunked system I'm aware of.

I don't know the answer to your question, but I can and will inquire with the powers that be.

Thanks

I think you would need a K-core to run the site.
    "Don't worry about what I am, cause I'm a state agent so what you need to do is make sure your doing the right thing **** boy" -J. Dewitte

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by 123 View Post
    If I am setting up GTR 8000s for single site IR trunking. Is the GCP 8000 still required? Or can I IR trunk the GTR 8000s without the site controller present like I could on the Quantars?
    You still need site controllers. Will the site be part of a SmartZone system or completely off-network? If completely off-network you can force it to site trunking through the site controller locally. If you have TDMA you will still have it in site trunking also.

Of course you lose most of your fleet management is site trunking.

Thanks

The Site-On-Wheels I've seen had all six channels populated plus a pair of site controllers. Obviously it'd cause everything affiliated to it to display SITE TRUNKING but it worked as it should have.

123 No Longer Registered