Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: XTL5000 factory reset

  1. #1
    MotoMike No Longer Registered

    Default XTL5000 factory reset

    Hello, I purchased what was described as a CB radio at a police auction today. After bringing it home, it turned out to be a Motorola XLT5000 with an O5 head on it. To be honest, I really have no use for this radio, as I was looking for a general CB radio.. This unit is so overkill for anything I would ever use it for, plus I doubt I would ever figure out how to program it. I powered it on, and went through the channels. Everything worked, and looked as though the previous configuration was still programmed into it. What I would like to do is find out if there is someone who could factory default this so I could sell it as a used radio and buy myself a regular CB radio. I am in ontario, canada.. let me know if that's possible. I would pay for a firmware upgrade as well to bring it to the latest and greatest. Thanks.


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts
    4,921
    Thanks
    5,016
    Thanked 8,542 Times in 2,357 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    Moved to appropriate sub-forum.

    What band is this radio? What firmware is in it? You should be able to see that if you're able to power up and go through the channels.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 04, 2012
    Posts
    2,051
    Thanks
    257
    Thanked 942 Times in 415 Posts

    Default

    What you have is worth a lot more than a CB radio. When you are ready to sell the unit be sure you get a fair price for the radio.

    As a FYI the materials you would need to "clean" up the radio would cost $100s. I recommend you find someone you trust and who will not rip you off to sell the radio to. I also suggest that this person know what the radio really is and what it can be used for.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 15, 2012
    Posts
    366
    Thanks
    93
    Thanked 294 Times in 128 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    If you're looking to sell it, drop me a line - I'm also in Ontario.

  5. #5
    MotoMike No Longer Registered

    Default

    Thanks for all the help and direction guys. I appreciate it. I have something new happen to this radio. The other day I was again playing around with it, try to find out internal information like firmware code, etc.. when it suddenly powered off. I powered it up again, and saw 3 lights on the right hand side light up. at the same time the screen was displaying vertical lines like it did just before the text showed up. so after the screen and the lights, the unit powers itself off again. It seems to go off, than on again repeatedly until i kill the power. any thoughts on this?? like I said, it's been solid since i bought it up until now..

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 25, 2019
    Posts
    51
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Country: United States

    Default

    Could be anything. If your looking at selling it, I'd be interested as my XTL5000 just bit the big one and could use a donor radio to repair mine...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 04, 2012
    Posts
    2,051
    Thanks
    257
    Thanked 942 Times in 415 Posts

    Default

    you may also want to check the power wires the ign (small red wire on the back connector) may have come undone.

  8. #8
    rudeman No Longer Registered

    Default

    Possibly "inhibited"????

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 12, 2011
    Location
    /dev/null
    Posts
    240
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 158 Times in 55 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rudeman View Post
    Possibly "inhibited"????
    That is not even a remote possibility.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 19, 2013
    Location
    In Your Network
    Posts
    2,738
    Thanks
    3,117
    Thanked 1,985 Times in 1,003 Posts
    Country: Holy See

    Default

    This is probably a FW17 radio with the same issues they all have, hence the unpredictable power ups. What are the three letters in the serial number?
    "God as my witness" - Jeremy Dewitte - Felon

  11. #11
    MotoMike No Longer Registered

    Default

    Motorola.jpg I snapped a picture of the unit. Hopefully you guys can see it. So I took it to a Motorola authorized dealer and they said they'll have to send it to Motorola to get fixed. Before I tell you guys how much they quoted me, how much do you think a reasonable flat rate fix for this unit might be? To recap, the unit does not turn on.. it goes as far as the vertical lines on the screen, and 3 lights on the right of the screen, then powers off.. never actually powers up any more unfortunately.. it's got an o5 head on it.

  12. #12
    MotoMike No Longer Registered

    Default

    Oh, and I checked the wires.. I snipped the cig. attachment and ran it through another inline fuse to the battery. Still no go..

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 12, 2011
    Location
    Avalon
    Posts
    1,229
    Thanks
    353
    Thanked 367 Times in 176 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Depot repair is going to be every bit of $500 if not more. That's just Motorola's part, not including the dealers time and shipping costs.
    "Don't worry about what I am, cause I'm a state agent so what you need to do is make sure your doing the right thing **** boy" -J. Dewitte

  14. #14
    MotoMike No Longer Registered

    Default

    You nailed it Magnus.. $595 is what they were asking.. I thought it was quite steep, but I suppose not after seeing your comment. With everything intact and working, what would you say a radio like this would go for used? and is there anyway to tell when it was made? I'm willing to spend the money to fix it up if I can make it back plus a bit more to buy a decent CB radio which is what I originally want.. Not sure if I should sell it as it is or what? Any ideas from anyone? i guess it depends on how much the unit is worth used, would depend on if it's worth fixing or sell the head and body as is not working. Has anyone seen similar problems like the one i'm experiencing? I can't be the only one!?.. i can do a quick video if someone wants to see what it's doing.. sometimes it's hard to describe.. lots of questions! ahh! thanks

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 13, 2012
    Posts
    621
    Thanks
    1,200
    Thanked 387 Times in 213 Posts

    Default

    Sell it to someone here on the board that wants it, they know what they are getting into with possible problems. Pretty good bunch of guys on here. Not sure what kind of CB your are looking for , but should be able to by yourself a spare CB. I would post the thing for sale on here, and be done with it. And go get ya a CB!!!

    If you sell it on ebay in the current condition , you are probably gonna get screwed by a claim by the buyer for non working. Been there done that, never again. And I explained the every stinking detail in the listing NOT WORKING, did'nt matter to ebay.
    Radio Referenced...Those who think they know it all are very annoying to those of use who do.