Results 1 to 22 of 22

Thread: XTL2500 Flashport Upgrade Problems

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 06, 2012
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    790
    Thanks
    194
    Thanked 340 Times in 164 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default XTL2500 Flashport Upgrade Problems

    Hi guys,

    Here's my situation... I picked up a remote head XTL2500 with R12.00 firmware. Purchased a refresh key from Jeff @ Sandy's (highly recommended) and I attempted the upgrade tonight. USB cable plugged into the brick, can read/write the radio with no issues. Using CPS 19.01 and the latest CVN for the XTL2500. Upgrade process gets to step 12 of 20 and I get an error saying it can't communicate with the radio, and to power cycle and try again. Tried that, no joy. One of the addendum's that came on the upgrade CD mentioned putting the radio into Flashzap mode manually... tried that, no joy. At this point the radio is still at R12 and CPS gives up. Anyone have any clue what's going on here? This is my first go at an Astro25 upgrade, but I know from many previous MotoTRBO upgrades that Flashzap can be somewhat picky.. is that what the issue is here? I tried 2 other PC's... the first one gives me an error saying it can't load the flashzap driver when the upgrade process starts, and the 2nd PC fails at the same spot as the original machine... block 12 of 20, can't communicate with radio. Grr!

    If anyone has any pointers they would be greatly appreciated.


  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 23, 2012
    Posts
    788
    Thanks
    444
    Thanked 882 Times in 365 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    My work PC does this crap with all ASTRO25 radios - mobiles, portables, you name it. Just keep trying, it'll eventually go through. I've never had trouble with MOTOTRBO stuff.

  3. #3
    cyrus's Avatar
    cyrus is offline Trailer Park Superintendent
    Join Date
    Jan 06, 2012
    Location
    Moonbase Alpha
    Posts
    899
    Thanks
    377
    Thanked 447 Times in 204 Posts
    Country: Japan

    Default

    XTL's are a PITA sometimes. I have more success using a serial cable on them than USB. My O3 seems to work fine with USB but my O5 barfs every time.

    Pop open that 26 pin connector and add a serial cable to it.
    Cyrus

    Bubbles: I'd like to see that Red Blue Green c***sucker put one of those together, duct-tapin' it.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 06, 2012
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    790
    Thanks
    194
    Thanked 340 Times in 164 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    Thanks guys, I'll look at going the serial route.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 06, 2012
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    790
    Thanks
    194
    Thanked 340 Times in 164 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    What is the preferred cable for flashing the XTL series... Serial via the GCAI? (HKN6183A I believe?)

  6. #6
    cyrus's Avatar
    cyrus is offline Trailer Park Superintendent
    Join Date
    Jan 06, 2012
    Location
    Moonbase Alpha
    Posts
    899
    Thanks
    377
    Thanked 447 Times in 204 Posts
    Country: Japan

    Default

    I prefer the HKN6160A data cable. Comes with DB9, speaker connector and ignition sense wire.

    It hooks up to the 26 pin accessory connector on the drawer unit.
    Cyrus

    Bubbles: I'd like to see that Red Blue Green c***sucker put one of those together, duct-tapin' it.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 06, 2012
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    790
    Thanks
    194
    Thanked 340 Times in 164 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    Ok... Maybe I'll go that route, it's a little cheaper than the HKN6183 too. I made my own serial cable for the 26 pin connector and couldn't get the radio to ack it's presence at all, so enough mucking around... I'll just buy one.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 06, 2012
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    790
    Thanks
    194
    Thanked 340 Times in 164 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    Ok this is just killing me... I can't see why this isn't working. It seems that during the upgrade process when the radio tries to go to flashzap mode the USB on the rear accessory connector turns off. I can't seem to get past that point. Ok, fair enough. So I threw together a serial cable which should be childs play (only 5 wires!) and I can't get anywhere with that, either via the accessory connector or the DB25 on the front of the brick. Does anyone have any suggestions? I was just going to order an OEM serial cable and be done with it, but now I'm concerned that it won't work either given the fact that the radio doesn't seem to see my homebrew cable at all.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 08, 2012
    Posts
    280
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 177 Times in 77 Posts

    Default

    Make sure you've turned the timers in the CPS options all the way up.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 06, 2012
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    790
    Thanks
    194
    Thanked 340 Times in 164 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    No dice I'm afraid. Now it just waits longer before giving me the error haha. Just so I know I'm on the right track here... Upgrading the firmware thru the accessory connector on the brick via USB should work, no? Or do I have to go thru the control head? This is a mid-power 2500 with a remote M5 head. Is going from R12 to R19 a problem?
    Last edited by Forts; Sep 03, 2013 at 03:02 AM.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 24, 2012
    Posts
    343
    Thanks
    39
    Thanked 34 Times in 21 Posts

    Default

    I had to do the upgrade from the rear port. Mine locked up and after restarting 5x it finally worked.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 06, 2012
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    790
    Thanks
    194
    Thanked 340 Times in 164 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    Did you use a serial or USB cable?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 24, 2012
    Posts
    343
    Thanks
    39
    Thanked 34 Times in 21 Posts

    Default

    Serial cable

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 06, 2012
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    790
    Thanks
    194
    Thanked 340 Times in 164 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    HKN6160, like Cyrus mentioned?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 24, 2012
    Posts
    343
    Thanks
    39
    Thanked 34 Times in 21 Posts

    Default

    Yes I used hkn6160b

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 06, 2012
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    790
    Thanks
    194
    Thanked 340 Times in 164 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    Thanks again... I think I'll go ahead and order one of those then.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 19, 2013
    Location
    In Your Network
    Posts
    2,736
    Thanks
    3,078
    Thanked 1,978 Times in 998 Posts
    Country: Holy See

    Default

    The support staff at Motorola recommends with the new firmware using a USB cable through the front GCAI connector on the control head. If it fails, use the addendum instructions which specify at what stage to place the radio into flashzap mode. I have never had one NOT work this way, as long as all the hardware was good to begin with. The new reflash is a complete rewrite to get rid of the error introduced in R17 firmware, so it is kinda tricky. From R12 to R19 is a big step, so its going to take awhile, be patient, but DO follow the upgrade procedures in the reflash addendum.
    "God as my witness" - Jeremy Dewitte - Felon

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 06, 2012
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    790
    Thanks
    194
    Thanked 340 Times in 164 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    I went ahead and ordered an HKN6184C from MOL, so I'll see how that goes. I decided on that cable over the rear serial because I can also use it on my TRBO mobiles if need be. Might as well get as much bang for my buck as I can!

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 06, 2012
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    790
    Thanks
    194
    Thanked 340 Times in 164 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    My HKN6184C arrived today and I was able to update the radio on the first try. So thru the control head while using an OEM cable... Whoda thunk?

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 19, 2013
    Location
    In Your Network
    Posts
    2,736
    Thanks
    3,078
    Thanked 1,978 Times in 998 Posts
    Country: Holy See

    Default

    Excellent news!
    "God as my witness" - Jeremy Dewitte - Felon

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Feb 18, 2012
    Location
    That's Correct.
    Posts
    260
    Thanks
    2,522
    Thanked 502 Times in 148 Posts

    Default

    Pretty sure you can't use a USB cable to program a mid power XTL through the TIB. At least I've never been able to.

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Jan 19, 2013
    Location
    In Your Network
    Posts
    2,736
    Thanks
    3,078
    Thanked 1,978 Times in 998 Posts
    Country: Holy See

    Default

    USB is not supported on the mid power TIB.
    "God as my witness" - Jeremy Dewitte - Felon