Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Linear Simulcast on 7100 platform

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 18, 2012
    Posts
    117
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 47 Times in 27 Posts

    Question Linear Simulcast on 7100 platform

    Hey all, has anybody managed to program a linear simulcast system on the 7100 platform? According to the help guide in RPM, it is supported on the 7100 platform. However, the check box is greyed out. I can't access it unless you change radio type to a 72 or 7300 platform. I'm using RPM R09A07 with J2R18H09 and F8R06N05. Suggestions??


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 06, 2012
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    790
    Thanks
    194
    Thanked 340 Times in 164 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    I have on my 7100ip... I'd have to check what firmware and DSP are in it, but it should be up to date. I've never noticed the box being greyed out before...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 18, 2012
    Posts
    117
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 47 Times in 27 Posts

    Default

    Hmmm.... is this possibly a bug in this version of RPM?..and was is fixed in the newest version?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts
    4,913
    Thanks
    4,984
    Thanked 8,467 Times in 2,335 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    Sometimes features are firmware-dependent. This is also true with Moto radios. Features may be greyed-out in the codeplug if certain prerequisites are not being met.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 18, 2012
    Posts
    117
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 47 Times in 27 Posts

    Default

    Yep, I think its a bug with R9A. I was able to find a PC with R8B still on it and the 'linear simulcast' check box is enabled on the 7100 platform. Does anybody out there have the new R9C and is willing to check if this problem was resolved? Thanks in advance.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 06, 2012
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    790
    Thanks
    194
    Thanked 340 Times in 164 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    I'm using the latest release from June.... Pretty sure it's 9C... And I'm not having any issues.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 21, 2014
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 26 Times in 14 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    I must ask, what is the difference between linear simulcast and other forms of simulcast?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 08, 2014
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    818
    Thanks
    486
    Thanked 794 Times in 417 Posts

    Default

    The difference is the C4FM modulation of the CAI and the WCQPSK and CQPSK linear modulations used by Harris and Motorola respectively for their simulcast base stations. The linear modulation and corresponding linear demodulation is more tolerant of simulcast inter symbol delay. This is why you hear folks on Radio Reference scanner board griping about scanners not working on certain simulcast systems. This is one of those grey areas in the P25 spec only recently acknowledged. The spec sheet for the P7100 says it is for C4FM only, but being DSP and being that Harris has a few simulcast systems out there, maybe there is a flash.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 19, 2013
    Location
    In Your Network
    Posts
    2,736
    Thanks
    3,078
    Thanked 1,978 Times in 998 Posts
    Country: Holy See

    Default

    I will have to call on Monday about this. If there is a flash for P7100s, I will obtain it and flash mine. That way I can actually try it with the Aeroflex in a controlled environment.
    "God as my witness" - Jeremy Dewitte - Felon

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 08, 2014
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    818
    Thanks
    486
    Thanked 794 Times in 417 Posts

    Default

    I would be curious to know. In the world of interoperability, P25 radios often must work on single site and simulcast systems, not to mention the multi vendor climate.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 18, 2012
    Posts
    117
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 47 Times in 27 Posts

    Default

    This was a bug with RPM Release R9A, after I updated to R9C I've had no problems using a P7100 on a simulcast system. Just make sure your firmware is updated to J2R18H09 (the 7100 platforms final release).

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to orangekitty56 For This Useful Post:

    com501 (May 05, 2014)