Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: New System Buildout - P25 Phase II Motorola System

apco25guy No Longer Registered

Default New System Buildout - P25 Phase II Motorola System

First - if this is not an appropriate place to start this, Mods please move as you see fit.

The County I work for has bid/funded and is in planning/design phase of a Motorola P25 Phase II 12 channel Simulcast system. I am a supporting project manager to another PM on this more as the only internal SME outside of end users that truly don't have a clue what it takes to put something like this together. The manager of the older system is retiring and has no interest in being a part of the new project. I could go into this more, but its not worth my time.

I guess my question is rather broad in 'scope'.... but simply.... Are there things you other sys admins wish were done but were not dealt with or thought of during build out / design, etc... The county has a consultant that has been retained and will be leading the charge with us and I just want to be able to talk about and participate with items that might not be thought of .. or more importantly might be over looked because they aren't easy or they 'can be done other ways'..

I already asked Motorola how they plan to test Phase 2 failsoft .... and I got a blank look from our engineer. Didn't exactly make me feel warm and fuzzy, but I wanted to hear how that would work.. "I'll get back to you".

Things I'm looking for if anyone cares to share....

What did Motorola cut corners or not do 'as effectively' as you thought during your systems' build outs?
    If you had it to do all over again, what would you do differently?
    Etc....

I'd love for this to be a rolling thread for conversation, but I'll take whatever I can get.

Any system admins that would rather discuss offline, feel free to PM me. I understand how it is sometimes.

Thanks in advance.

Jonathan

Thanks