Thread: XTL5000 as a Ham Radio?

MotoMike No Longer Registered

Default XTL5000 as a Ham Radio?

I'm very new to p25 so bare with me.. this may be a very silly question.. I've got an XTL5000 o5 head which states that it can handle 146-178MHz, 10-35 watts power.. Is this radio any good for VHF ham use? If i'm reading this right, it's got the mid to tail end of the 2 meter band for the popular ham channels.. The radio I have has the option K in the 4th digit of the model number.. I'm trying to find a use for this unit I have.. it's a pretty niche market compared to CB/Ham that i'm used to working with.. Thanks.

Thanks
    Thanked 8,458 Times in 2,330 Posts

The VHF XTL covers 136-174. There's only one split, unlike the ASTRO Spectra which has the 136-162 (J) and 146-174 (K).

Thanks

While they are excellent radios, they lack many features a ham would use. No VFO to scan in, no reverse button, & most are not programmable from the keypad. For traveling, these features are required, but if you always stay in your home area, & have all the repeater pairs loaded in, you will be fine. While I have a MCS2000, & XPR4550 in my car, when I travel on the road, I install an Icom 2720. GARY

Thanks

The best benefit of the XTL5000 for ham use, is the addition of 64 MPLs (selectable PL tones) with recent firmware, and the ability to have the radio remember the selected tone per channel. With that and the channel capacity, it practically has a VFO.

Thanks
    Thanked 1,977 Times in 997 Posts

Its a tank of a radio, it far out performs any rice box on the market, and it does P25. What more could anyone ask??
    "God as my witness" - Jeremy Dewitte - Felon

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by com501 View Post
    What more could anyone ask??
    A VFO to scan for new & interesting radio comms.

Thanks
    Thanked 1,977 Times in 997 Posts

99% of people who drive around in cars use the same three repeaters day in and day out except on field day.