Thread: Soo... Bought a few spectras. Now what? (Spectra help ?)

radiohead No Longer Registered

Default Soo... Bought a few spectras. Now what? (Spectra help ?)

So I purchased a few spectras non astro for a good price. VHF UHF for ham. However I run XP so dos is out from what I read. Can anyone walk me through how to build or what kind of computer to get, what o.s to run and how to get the rss from the xp machine to the dos capable machine. Total newbie question but I haven't seen anyone posting computer info or step by step type stuff and I've been scouring a few forums for weeks.

Thanks

Your probably not going to find the kind of how to you are looking for here as this forum is geared towards higher end users and radio professionals. I will tell you that you may need to find a older PC running DOS or windows 95 or 98. You might be able to get away with using a bootable USB drive and the cache off utility on your XP machine.
    "Don't worry about what I am, cause I'm a state agent so what you need to do is make sure your doing the right thing **** boy" -J. Dewitte

PSYKO_Inc No Longer Registered

You'll need a RIB for programming (I use one from Kawamall on eBay) and programming cables which can be made with off the shelf parts from any electronic supplier; pinouts can be found over at repeater-builder. I've been using a Pentium 2 Dell laptop running DOS 6.22 with no problems, I did have to use the "cacheoff" utility to make it work though. The RSS is no longer sold, but can be found on this site. Depending on how new your XP computer is, you might be able to make it work booting from a DOS floppy. If the software will load, the first thing you want to do is read the radio and save the codeplug. If your radio ends up bricked somewhere down the line, that known good codeplug can be the only thing that will save it.

Quote Originally Posted by PSYKO_Inc View Post