Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Looking for ASTRO SABER VHF S-rec

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 23, 2012
    Posts
    158
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 9 Times in 6 Posts
    Country: Taiwan

    bang Looking for ASTRO SABER VHF S-rec

    I get a astro saber vhf seem like radio killed.
    Wrire and read is successful but can't power up.
    Can I rewrite the S-rec to repair this problem?


  2. #2
    cyrus's Avatar
    cyrus is offline Trailer Park Superintendent
    Join Date
    Jan 05, 2012
    Location
    Moonbase Alpha
    Posts
    773
    Thanks
    132
    Thanked 273 Times in 125 Posts
    Country: Japan

    Default

    Yes, provided you took the s-record before the radio was killed.
    Cyrus

    Bubbles: I'd like to see that Red Blue Green c***sucker put one of those together, duct-tapin' it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts
    4,131
    Thanks
    2,776
    Thanked 4,931 Times in 1,469 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    What model of ASTRO Saber? I, II or III? Can probably help a brother out!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 23, 2012
    Posts
    158
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 9 Times in 6 Posts
    Country: Taiwan

    Default

    My AS is model I & III
    VHF band

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts
    4,131
    Thanks
    2,776
    Thanked 4,931 Times in 1,469 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    You have one radio which is a model I and III? Pics please!

    The radio which is inhibited; what model is that? Has display and full keypad, including 0-9,* #?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 23, 2012
    Posts
    158
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 9 Times in 6 Posts
    Country: Taiwan

    Default

    The inhibited radio is model3 (Full keypad), The M1 is work greate. sorry

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts
    4,131
    Thanks
    2,776
    Thanked 4,931 Times in 1,469 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by xts2500 View Post
    The inhibited radio is model3 (Full keypad), The M1 is work greate. sorry
    OK! I thought you had the special, limited edition Cowthief model. I have one! Pics attached...

    This was the original prototype for the APX7000. It was supposed to have dual-antenna option.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts
    4,131
    Thanks
    2,776
    Thanked 4,931 Times in 1,469 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    Here's a VHF AS3 s-record.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 23, 2012
    Posts
    158
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 9 Times in 6 Posts
    Country: Taiwan

    Default

    Thank you !!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 23, 2012
    Posts
    158
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 9 Times in 6 Posts
    Country: Taiwan

    Default

    maybe the radio have other problem.
    rewrite the s-rec doesn't work

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts
    4,131
    Thanks
    2,776
    Thanked 4,931 Times in 1,469 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    Does the green light turn on when you power up the radio? Does the green light STAY ON? (not shut off)

    If the light is staying on, sometimes the problem is related to the seating of the RF board and vocon. There's a smaller header connector which has to be perfectly aligned (all pins connected) or it will not work.

    Is the battery good? Charged?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 23, 2012
    Posts
    158
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 9 Times in 6 Posts
    Country: Taiwan

    Default

    Green light turn on 1 sec and turn off.
    Battery is good and charged.
    Tried replace keypad,speaker....and any I can change.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts
    4,131
    Thanks
    2,776
    Thanked 4,931 Times in 1,469 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    Was the vocon previous modified? (chip removal). If so, ensure all TSOP pins are connected to the board. I've seen some very bush soldering jobs before. You must inspect with jeweler's loop and small probe tool.

    Here are leading causes of vocon failure:

    - Codeplug checksum/corruption error
    - Host operating system not loading (Check Flash ROM TSOPs!!)
    - DSP firmware is incorrect (N on I, I on N, etc. -- but will still give Fail 02/90)
    - Vocon/RF board not seated together correctly
    - Physical damage
    - Shield is shorting something out. Check for insufficient insulation.

    If all else fails, just get an AS1 ($50-75) and swap the vocon. It's much less expensive to repair this way, than to waste hours of shop time.


  14. #14
    Neo No Longer Registered

    Default

    I've seen a XTS3000 take 15 minutes before displaying the error code. The radio appeared dead, forgot I left it on and 15 minutes I hear an error beep. Turns out it was a tuning partition checksum error.

    If a known good spec is dumped into your radio and it still acts as before then it's most likely a hardware problem. Most likely something on the vocon is defective like Mars illuded to.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 23, 2012
    Posts
    158
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 9 Times in 6 Posts
    Country: Taiwan

    Default

    I bid a astro saber 1 on ebay. Change a new vocon maybe is the best way.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 11, 2011
    Location
    /dev/null
    Posts
    236
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 149 Times in 50 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by xts2500 View Post
    I bid a astro saber 1 on ebay. Change a new vocon maybe is the best way.
    Make sure it has a 1MEG vocon. Most of them on eBay today have 512K vocons.