Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: APX7000 Band Splits

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 16, 2012
    Location
    terra australis incognita
    Posts
    474
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

    Default APX7000 Band Splits

    This might be a silly question, but do the different band split APX7000 portables have different hardware or can the bands be changed simply by re-flashing the radio?

    For example, can a UHF2/700-800 radio be re-flashed to a VHF/UHF1 with just an antenna change or are the boards band specific?

    I guess the same question could be asked of the single band variants as well?
    Last edited by Bigfella237; Jun 02, 2012 at 08:24 AM. Reason: added question
    Andrew


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 12, 2011
    Location
    Avalon
    Posts
    1,201
    Thanks
    274
    Thanked 314 Times in 152 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    There are different RF boards for each band combination. When you order an APX you pick a primary and secondary band, then they secondary is only enabled if you add the option to enable it. But they are totally different boards for each combination.

  3. #3
    Ken.Adams No Longer Registered

    Default

    These are the five RF boards currently available:

    MNUR4001_ - Assembly, RF Board - ASTRO APX 7000 700–800 MHz and VHF
    MNUS4000_ - Assembly, RF Board - ASTRO APX 7000 700–800 MHz and UHF1
    MNUS4002_ - Assembly, RF Board - ASTRO APX 7000 700–800 MHz and UHF2
    MNUT4000_ - Assembly, RF Board - ASTRO APX 7000 UHF1 and VHF
    MNUT4004_ - Assembly, RF Board - ASTRO APX 7000 UHF2 and VHF

    There are no single-band RF boards for the APX7000. When you order an APX7000 you're going to get a dual-band RF board even if you want a single-band radio - the secondary band just won't be enabled in the flashcode. Enabling the secondary band of the RF board that is already in a single-band radio is the only change you can make without swapping hardware.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 16, 2012
    Location
    terra australis incognita
    Posts
    474
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

    Default

    Ah thanks for the info, I knew the ASTRO25 radios had different boards for each split but I thought they may have come up with a way to have all the necessary hardware already on-board in the APX series, but I guess if that were the case then we would probably see triple & quad band radios (or at least hacked versions thereof)?

    I wonder why they haven't released a UHF1 and UHF2 board? It might be a strange combination but there are some agencies here in Australia who would benefit from having both bands (Surf Life Saving comes to mind as they have a PMR network in the low 500MHz range and will soon require access to the statewide Govt. owned TRN in the low 400MHz range).

    I was referring to the lower tier APX portables when I mentioned single band radios, sorry for the confusion?

    While I'm here I may as well ask, I've never had anything to do with the APX7500 mobiles but was wondering, are they dual-band as well or still only one?
    Andrew

  5. #5
    rad2085 No Longer Registered

    Default

    Hi Andrew

    Yes the Mobile APX7500 is a multi-band radio, more info is available on Motorola website.
    http://www.motorola.com/web/Business...Spec_sheet.pdf

    Maybe a typo should be GRN in the 400MHz range.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 16, 2012
    Location
    terra australis incognita
    Posts
    474
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rad2085 View Post
    Maybe a typo should be GRN in the 400MHz range.
    Thanks again for the info, sorry to ask such a noob question, I probably should have researched the answer myself but getting lazy in my old age!

    That wasn't a typo but you are also correct, the system is known locally as the NSWGRN (New South Wales Government Radio Network) but I used TRN (Trunked Radio Network) as a generic term for those non-Aussies here.
    Andrew