Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 39

Thread: Possible firmware bug in 2.4 - XPR7550 rebooting during scan

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts
    4,064
    Thanks
    2,986
    Thanked 5,829 Times in 1,716 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default Possible firmware bug in 2.4 - XPR7550 rebooting during scan

    Has anyone with a XPR7550 and firmware 2.4 experienced random radio reboots during SCAN operation?

    Two users on my network have reported it and I confirmed it on my own radio tonight. All I'm scanning are different talkgroups/timeslots on my own repeater and one analog channel. Just an IPSC system with no beacon transmissions or roaming list implemented. As simple as can be.

    Anyone else noticing this? I thought it was someone screwing around with remote disable/enable, but that's not the issue. Neither are dirty battery contacts, etc. Three new portables, all in good condition.

    Haven't noticed/confirmed any issues on the SL7550 or the XPR5550 yet.


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 28, 2012
    Posts
    992
    Thanks
    118
    Thanked 909 Times in 364 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    I'm almost never turn scan off on my XPR7550, and scan both analog and digital systems without a problem. However, I don't have any scan lists that are mixed analog and digital so perhaps it's mixing modes in a scan list that is the problem.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 08, 2014
    Location
    EMEA
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    99
    Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts

    Default

    Yes, I am experiencing exactly the same problem.
    Problem appeared after 2.4 upgrade.
    Radio is brand new and scanning includes both digital & analog channels.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 03, 2013
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I scan quite a bit on mine and have not seen any reboots with R02.40.00 FW. Been running the FW since it came out.

    I scan several repeaters and many analog channels as well.

    I heard third hand via a dealer that there is an issue with the latest FW on the xpr-7550, but I didn't get any details. I'll see if I can get more information.

    Rick

  5. #5
    RFBURNS No Longer Registered

    Default

    Yes, I have, my 7550 while in charger and in scan will reboot to the spash screen and go right back to scanning. I have not noticed it while out of the charger. I note that the screen backlight does not eliminate when it this does this. Unless one is specifically looking at the radio (for that quick moment) nothing calls your attention to it.

    I will see if I can video.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 03, 2012
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    I just updated a 7550 on Monday and shortly after programming it started randomly rebooting on a roaming channel. Oddly only one of three identically programmed radios experienced the issue. It stopped after appx 30 minutes.
    Last edited by cmkrescue; Dec 24, 2014 at 11:49 AM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts
    4,064
    Thanks
    2,986
    Thanked 5,829 Times in 1,716 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    Apparently it's easier to notice when you have text to speech enabled, and it announces the zone and channel upon reboot.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 09, 2014
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 18 Times in 3 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Yes, we have had this happen. I ran through several tests, including cloning the code plug that was rebooting into another 7550, and it did not reboot.

    I finally made it stop happening after rebuilding the code plug from one of the samples that is included with CPS the issue went away. It sucks, but it may be what is needed.

    Is it possible the code plugs can become corrupted easier with 2.4?

  9. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to sswcmw For This Useful Post:

    p47r4ck (Dec 24, 2014)

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 08, 2014
    Location
    EMEA
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    99
    Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mars View Post
    Apparently it's easier to notice when you have text to speech enabled, and it announces the zone and channel upon reboot.
    In my XPR7550 I have (had) the "user password" function enabled..
    Every unexpected reboot practically "locks" radio since radio is waiting for user's password input.
    This could be dangerous.

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to kondoros For This Useful Post:

    Mars (Dec 27, 2014)

  12. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 20, 2013
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Hello I too have a 3500 that is rebooting randomly when in scan after being updated to 2.4 firmware.

  13. #11
    com501's Avatar
    com501 is offline T S - Moderator
    CS Forums $upporter
    Join Date
    Jan 18, 2013
    Location
    In Your Network
    Posts
    2,341
    Thanks
    1,734
    Thanked 1,438 Times in 728 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Aw KRAP! And I am deploying 225 7550s on Monday with mixed scan lists with - 2.4, didn't have any choice, new radios.
    Retarded Mongoloid on PCP...

  14. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts
    4,064
    Thanks
    2,986
    Thanked 5,829 Times in 1,716 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    It's getting to the point where one has to wonder if Motorola has a firmware beta-testing team -- and if not, I know of a great group who would be very good at aggressively testing it and reporting back.

  15. #13
    com501's Avatar
    com501 is offline T S - Moderator
    CS Forums $upporter
    Join Date
    Jan 18, 2013
    Location
    In Your Network
    Posts
    2,341
    Thanks
    1,734
    Thanked 1,438 Times in 728 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    If they would only pay us.....
    Retarded Mongoloid on PCP...

  16. #14
    Astro Spectra's Avatar
    Astro Spectra is offline T S - Moderator
    P25.ca Forums $upporter
    Join Date
    Nov 22, 2012
    Posts
    765
    Thanks
    251
    Thanked 437 Times in 234 Posts
    Country: Great Britain

    Default

    I have 2.4 in a XPR5550 and I use roaming extensivly - no issues. Have not tried scan.
    It is a fine thing to be honest, but it is also very important to be right

  17. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 19, 2012
    Location
    FLORIDA/QUEBEC
    Posts
    464
    Thanks
    79
    Thanked 236 Times in 144 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    Wow! I was about to upgrade to 2.4 to take advantage of the audio enhancements, but read this thread. I think I'll wait for a while to see how M deals with it, as I'm always using scan. Merry Christmas to all. GARY

  18. #16
    com501's Avatar
    com501 is offline T S - Moderator
    CS Forums $upporter
    Join Date
    Jan 18, 2013
    Location
    In Your Network
    Posts
    2,341
    Thanks
    1,734
    Thanked 1,438 Times in 728 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    I always wait as long as possible to upgrade, but even waiting to install CPS 11 is no longer possible. Repairs arriving back from the factory are now on CPS 11. Half the new radios we got in this last order were 2.4.
    Retarded Mongoloid on PCP...

  19. #17
    PRC148 No Longer Registered

    Default

    I'm still running 2.30.10. It will occasionally flash the GOB Bootloader message if I change channels while scanning.

    I don't know about anyone else but the 7550 just seems really slow operating system wise, thinking about it now, the 5550 is the same way. It will often take a few moments for the radio to catch up if the channels are changed quickly.

  20. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts
    4,064
    Thanks
    2,986
    Thanked 5,829 Times in 1,716 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    Confirmed the mobile (XPR5550) is also affected. I was driving tonight, and after about 30 mins of scanning mixed analog/digital channels, the radio rebooted itself. It's never done this before. Electrical connections are solid. Not a ham installation.

    Moto has a firmware bug!

  21. #19
    com501's Avatar
    com501 is offline T S - Moderator
    CS Forums $upporter
    Join Date
    Jan 18, 2013
    Location
    In Your Network
    Posts
    2,341
    Thanks
    1,734
    Thanked 1,438 Times in 728 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Now its time to work on a firmware reverting hack.
    Retarded Mongoloid on PCP...

  22. #20
    Join Date
    Apr 03, 2013
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rickak View Post

    I heard third hand via a dealer that there is an issue with the latest FW on the xpr-7550, but I didn't get any details. I'll see if I can get more information.

    Rick
    Just to follow up, this was a misunderstanding, no bug to report from this dealer.

    Still not seeing any reboots, I wonder what it is that sets it off...

    I have 5550's too, but I didn't update those yet, oops :-)

    Rick

  23. #21
    Join Date
    Feb 28, 2012
    Posts
    992
    Thanks
    118
    Thanked 909 Times in 364 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    As a test, I built a scan list with one analog channel and six talk groups on a local system. After an hour of scanning with voice announcement on, my radio did not reboot. Therefore, the bug is not universal or there is some combination of settings that causes it to appear.

  24. #22
    Join Date
    Apr 03, 2013
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I usually use an auto scan channel. Scanlist is almost full with 15 members. The members are:

    1 - analog simplex
    1 - digital simplex
    8 - DMR conventional repeater slots w/ rx groups
    4 - analog repeaters
    1 - selected channel

    No priority channels are set.

    I get no reboots.

    rick

  25. #23
    Join Date
    Sep 08, 2014
    Location
    EMEA
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    99
    Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts

    Default

    The members of my scanlist are :

    7 - analog simplex
    3 - DMR conventional repeater slots w/ rx groups
    5 - analog repeaters

    and I am getting random reboots approx. every 30 minutes.

  26. #24
    com501's Avatar
    com501 is offline T S - Moderator
    CS Forums $upporter
    Join Date
    Jan 18, 2013
    Location
    In Your Network
    Posts
    2,341
    Thanks
    1,734
    Thanked 1,438 Times in 728 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Sounds like we need to do a recovery with the new firmware and put some basic channels into one zone and analyze the results.
    Retarded Mongoloid on PCP...

  27. #25
    cyrus's Avatar
    cyrus is offline Trailer Park Superintendent
    Join Date
    Jan 05, 2012
    Location
    Moonbase Alpha
    Posts
    762
    Thanks
    159
    Thanked 314 Times in 148 Posts
    Country: Japan

    Default

    FWIW, the APX had the same problem with earlier versions of firmware.

    If you had any P25 trunking systems in your scanlist that were out of range, the radio would reboot.

    I found it by stripping everything out of my scanlist and adding back channels one at a time.

    I would suggest doing the same. If no particular type of channel seems to trigger it, then try a fresh codeplug adding the same channels back one at a time.
    Cyrus

    Bubbles: I'd like to see that Red Blue Green c***sucker put one of those together, duct-tapin' it.

  28. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to cyrus For This Useful Post:

    Alpha (Dec 27, 2014),com501 (Dec 28, 2014),kondoros (Dec 28, 2014),Mars (Dec 27, 2014)