Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Scan question for APX 7000

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 25, 2012
    Location
    PLANET EARTH
    Posts
    56
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts

    Default Scan question for APX 7000

    I am sure I am overlooking the obvious, but need help. I have four (4) scan groups programmed into my APX 7000 using CPS and I use toggle position B to turn on scan. The quesiton is how do I choose which scan group I want to scan. At the present time, it appears when I turn on scan that scan group 1 is being scanned. Thanks for any help


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 12, 2011
    Location
    Avalon
    Posts
    1,201
    Thanks
    274
    Thanked 314 Times in 152 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    The scan list you use should be based off of the scan list selected in the personality the channel you are on is using.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 25, 2012
    Location
    PLANET EARTH
    Posts
    56
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts

    Default

    OK, if I understand right, the way to choose which scan list group I want to scan to is to set the radio to a channel in the scan list group that I want to scan and turn on scan, then it will scan the channels associated with that scan group? Thanks for the reply

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 12, 2011
    Location
    Avalon
    Posts
    1,201
    Thanks
    274
    Thanked 314 Times in 152 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    No, every channel is in a personality. Every personality has a scan list selection in it. On any given channel it will use the scan list selected for the personality the channel is in.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 25, 2012
    Location
    PLANET EARTH
    Posts
    56
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts

    Default

    Yes, I have chosen channels and entered them in different scan groups through their personality, so since I have four (4) different scan groups, how do I choose the scan group I want to scan, the channels are already in scan groups and assigned to their scan group through their personality, I am trying to figure out how to choose a particular scan group that contains these personalities..

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 12, 2011
    Location
    Avalon
    Posts
    1,201
    Thanks
    274
    Thanked 314 Times in 152 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    By going to a channel who is assigned to the personality that is assigned to the list you want to scan.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 25, 2012
    Location
    PLANET EARTH
    Posts
    56
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts

    Default

    Aha, that is what I was looking for, thank you so much

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 12, 2011
    Location
    Avalon
    Posts
    1,201
    Thanks
    274
    Thanked 314 Times in 152 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Sorry it took so long to get there, lol.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 25, 2012
    Location
    PLANET EARTH
    Posts
    56
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts

    Default

    No problem, thank you very much for your help, I thought that was the way, but wanted to make sure I was doing it the right way, again thanks very much

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 16, 2012
    Location
    terra australis incognita
    Posts
    474
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

    Default

    If you have 4 scan lists it might be easier to dedicate 4 personalities and set them to "Automatic Scan", that way all you need do is change to the appropriate channel and the scan will happen automatically?

    P.S. Why are your posts all bold?
    Andrew

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 25, 2012
    Location
    PLANET EARTH
    Posts
    56
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts

    Default

    Yes, thanks for the auto scan input, I will use that feature on one group when I travel to South Florida, Thanks for all of your input....PS took the bold off. Thanks