Thread: MCS2000 - excessive PL bleed on RX?

Thanks

Default MCS2000 - excessive PL bleed on RX?

Hi everyone. I have two 900 MHz MCS2000s. Aside from the characteristic "lazy squelch" just before they mute, they have another annoying problem. On RX, the receiver seems to pass PL tones rather loudly -- enough so I can always tell when my MCS2000 is unmuted without looking at my radios. I do not have this problem with my 900 Maxtrac. Under the same circumstances (frequency, antenna, etc.), the Maxtrac produces nice pure audio.

Has anyone else noticed this? Might this be a problem that a firmware update could fix or does the MCS2000 just allow RX PL to bleed through more than other radios?

Thanks,

Norman

Thanks

I have no experience with the 900MHz units, but haven't noticed this as an issue with other bands. Is it any PL, or perhaps just the higher 192Hz+ range? Any difference with 'hear clear' on or off?

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by Ice-T View Post
    I have no experience with the 900MHz units, but haven't noticed this as an issue with other bands. Is it any PL, or perhaps just the higher 192Hz+ range? Any difference with 'hear clear' on or off?
    Hi Ice,

I've noticed this problem with any PL, unlike my Maxtrac which produces nice clean audio using the same PLs. Most of the guys in my area don't like Hearclear, so I have it turned off.

Norman

Thanks

I have always found the hear clear to sound 'punchy" . I modified a ton of 900 maxtracs to disable the hearclear on rx. The pl bleed through is bad on some of the radios. I remember "discussing" it with Moto in the past. Although they denied any problem I remember tracing the issue to a wrong value cap in the high pass filter circuit (.01 instead of a .1?? ). This only happened in a certain production run so that explains why some radios have it and some dont.

Thanks
    Thanked 5,774 Times in 1,707 Posts