Thread: How to activate option H29 ? (Software Encryption)

drseltsam No Longer Registered

Default How to activate option H29 ? (Software Encryption)

Hi,

I recently learned that I have bought some VSELP Astros flashed with H35 conventional personality.

Further reading indicates that there is an option H29 Single Key SW Encryption I would like to activate on those radios.

Can this be done through s-record manipulation, like triggering the right bit with a hex editor (at FDB offset29, I believe...following MARS tutorial) ?

Thanks for any hints !

Cheers,

Thanks
    Thanked 4,931 Times in 1,469 Posts

I would add H07, Software Multikey Encryption. It is represented by a value of 4, at bit 6 in the flashcode. xxxxxx-4xxxxx-x

You'll also need to activate it at offset 21 in the FDB.

Hi Mars,

thanks for the sugggestion, just another question, as I am really new to digital radios ...

Can I perform all s-record manipulation with a normal RIB or do I need the smartRIB and this iButton dongle ?

And where can I get this famous MTSX Labtool SW in the suitable version to extract an Astro s-record...it says it's easily available on the net but somehow i can't get the clue where exactly to look, all the dark russion sites have tons of RSS & CPS but no MTSX LAB.

Thanks & cheers,

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by drseltsam View Post
    Can I perform all s-record manipulation with a normal RIB or do I need the smartRIB and this iButton dongle ?
    Normal RIB will work just fine. No iButton required. You don't even need the flash cables (more expensive) -- just a regular programming cable/RIB config.

And where can I get this famous MTSX Labtool SW in the suitable version to extract an Astro s-record...it says it's easily available on the net but somehow i can't get the clue where exactly to look, all the dark russion sites have tons of RSS & CPS but no MTSX LAB.