• If posting about a radio issue: Include the HOST, DSP and UCM/secure firmware versions, flashcode and CPS version you're using along with the operating system info. This is critical information.

Astro 25 XTL5000 w/w7 contorl head

Status
Not open for further replies.

opfor2

Contributing Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2013
Messages
41
Hi all,I just came across an older XTL5000, with a W7 control head, Mdl# M29KSS9PW1AN with a sad flash of 000201-002000-3. I'm not familiar with the older XTL5000 with the W7 control heads and I was wondering how does one program it and what type of programming cable do I need to get?ThanksDan..
 
R

Ricky

Guest
Programming cable part number is HKN6184C. It has a circular connector which is plugged into the front of the R/T. You can either twist it in place to lock it, or program it loose. Use the same mobile CPS as you would for the O series control heads.
 

Magnus

Prolific Contributor
CS Forums $upporter
Joined
Dec 12, 2011
Messages
1,229
That is not the cable, that is for the O and M heads. HKN6155 is the correct part # for the W series XTL5000 or Astro Spectra Plus.
 

com501

Prolific Contributor
CS Forums $upporter
Joined
Jan 18, 2013
Messages
2,785
An XTL5000 W9/7/5/4 should have a GCAI connector on the TIB or its not an XTL. The Astro Spectra Plus uses the KVL port but uses the Astro 25 software. The XTL may or may not support USB on the TIB GCAI depending on F/W version and whether it is high or medium power.
 

Delta_Xray

Contributing Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2012
Messages
45
I have a mid power XTL5000 with a W5 head on it. I've been using a HKN6161 data cable that I picked up on ebay for $12
 

com501

Prolific Contributor
CS Forums $upporter
Joined
Jan 18, 2013
Messages
2,785
Ah, its a DASH mount. Then you use a USB or serial programming cable on the rear DB 26 connector. The 6161 is a good choice. Cheap and effective.

There is a reason I have eight different damn cables to program XTLs and XTSs.
 
OP
opfor2

opfor2

Contributing Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2013
Messages
41
Well as you can probably guess my next logical question would be: can and how difficult is it to upgrade this radio to a O5 control head?
 

com501

Prolific Contributor
CS Forums $upporter
Joined
Jan 18, 2013
Messages
2,785
All you have to do is buy the pieces and tell the radio in software what kind of head it has.
 
OP
opfor2

opfor2

Contributing Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2013
Messages
41
Didn't know it was that easy. thanks..
 
Status
Not open for further replies.