DB-224 antenna's

Status

radioman2013

Prolific Contributor
There is a definite shortage of choices for commercial grade VHF base antenna's available now. I work in the Rail Road industry and cannot find a decent Super Station Master or Station Master style antenna's on 160mhz.
About 10 years ago I suggested we move to the DB products 222 and 224 series. We installed a few of the 222's and there have continued to work flawlessly. The experience with the 224's have been terrible, with 100% failure within 2 years. As it turns out the antenna's themselves were OK . but the phasing harneses went bad internally. Of course the first one had to be on a mountain top tower site in the middel of winter. What's interesting is the open bay antenna's only have a 1 year warranty, while all the fiberglass ones have at least a 10 year warranty. DB Products was more then happy to sell us a new harness, but I am not a glutton for punishment. So we went back to the Super Base Commander and that has worked well for about 9 years now. The only issue is thay are not made anymore.
Has anyone had any more experiences with the 224 series recently and can say they fixed the harness issue or should we find a different not as good quality fiberglass antenna in the 5db range.
I don't like the Katherine as they leak water into the raydome and the others out there look really cheap.

MotoBill

Prolific Contributor
CS Forums $upporter
I am surprised to hear of the failures you had with the DB-224 having installed many of them years ago with most still in service. However, I was never a fan of the exposed phasing harness and cheep metalized tape used to secure the harness to the mast.

We always added additional tape and UV rated Ty-Raps around the harness assemblies to keep them well secured to the mast, and to keep the metalized tap from working loose, possibly causing RF noise or PIM.