EFJ5100 UHF FPP Not exactly working right

Status

WQNV648

Prolific Contributor
Joined
Jun 8, 2012
Messages
266
So I got a weird problem with a EFJ 5100 on UHF that I recently ran into. When I got the radio originally, the FPP worked great the entire bandsplit. I haven't used FPP until recently when I was trying to enter in a frequency (460.15 to be exact) on both the RX and TX sides in FPP and it wasn't liking it. Poked around a bit and it seems like all of the sudden, its not going above 450.000 exactly. I'm a little perplexed; anyone have any ideas?
 

rhabdo-medic

Prolific Contributor
CS Forums $upporter
Joined
Jul 7, 2012
Messages
113
Are you able to enter frequencies above 450 with the PCC software? What firmware are you running in the radio?
 
OP
WQNV648

WQNV648

Prolific Contributor
Joined
Jun 8, 2012
Messages
266
Yes, it works above 450 in PC Configure just fine.

The radio firmware shows 4.12.4
 

rhabdo-medic

Prolific Contributor
CS Forums $upporter
Joined
Jul 7, 2012
Messages
113
Can you edit one of your 460Mhz channels with FPP to save a frequency in that range? Can you edit a blank channel for 460Mhz? Or is FPP cutting you off all together? What happens when you type in your frequency, does it show your inputted frequency until you go to save it or does it not even let you enter in the frequency? What version of PCC are you running? Anything change since the last time you used FPP and it working correctly? (change PCC versions, adjust any settings in the programming software...)
 
OP
WQNV648

WQNV648

Prolific Contributor
Joined
Jun 8, 2012
Messages
266
Since the last time I used FPP in the 450-460 range, which was about 2 years ago, I've added channels via PCC I have version 2.10.2 of PCC. I did get the options updated recently, but however, the FPP issue I have encountered was occurring even before that. I've used PCC version 2.10.2 since I got the radio.

I tried editing good ole UCAL40 in my radio and it says "INVALID" but it still keeps the 458.21250 in the radio.
 

rhabdo-medic

Prolific Contributor
CS Forums $upporter
Joined
Jul 7, 2012
Messages
113
Not saying this is a guaranteed fix but its worth a shot. EFJ radios are particular about what version of PCC you use on them. The correct PCC version for firmware 4.12.4 is 2.8.4 I would say a good starting point is to get your hands on that version and rewrite your codeplug to the radio then try FPP.
 
OP
WQNV648

WQNV648

Prolific Contributor
Joined
Jun 8, 2012
Messages
266
Hmmm interesting....I'll need to see where I can find 2.8.4.
 

rhabdo-medic

Prolific Contributor
CS Forums $upporter
Joined
Jul 7, 2012
Messages
113
I don't have a copy of that version, but I'm sure that some quality time with google might turn something up. Let me know if that solves your problem...
 
OP
WQNV648

WQNV648

Prolific Contributor
Joined
Jun 8, 2012
Messages
266
I bumped up the firmware on the radio recently to match the 2.10.2 PCConfigure and redid the codeplug and still, the FPP doesn't work the entire band.
 
S

syntrx

Not Registered
I've got the same issue on my radio - PCC 2.10.2 and firmware 4.14.5. FPP above 450 hasn't worked since I got it, but I'm not bothered as I only use it on 70cm.

Given that the Fed band is south of 450MHz, I suspect this FPP limit is intentional by design.
 
OP
WQNV648

WQNV648

Prolific Contributor
Joined
Jun 8, 2012
Messages
266
Well, while that makes sense, I had it working above 450 once before so I'm just wondering what I did to make it not work anymore.
 

xpr8300

Prolific Contributor
CS Forums $upporter
Joined
Mar 1, 2012
Messages
678
Mine does the same thing with 4.15.4.. kinda annoying but i preprgrammed in my freqs above 450 with PCC....
 

Alpha

T¹ ÆS Ø - Moderator, CS Forums $upporter
Staff member
CS Forums $upporter
Joined
Feb 12, 2012
Messages
2,755
Now that the OOB patch is pwn3d, you can always get a UHF-H and go down from there ;) Although the firmware might limit the FPP to only 450 and above.
 

xpr8300

Prolific Contributor
CS Forums $upporter
Joined
Mar 1, 2012
Messages
678
I suspect FPP limits are in the firmware of the radio, similar to the ASTRO25 series.

I may downgrade my UHF_L to a way old version to see if the limits were changed somewhere along the line. I can always uplift it back.
 
C

coopcity6

Not Registered
dont feel bad my radio which was made to fpp suddenly stopped taking frequencies above 450. you can get the radio to fpp down to the 390's and it does take but the radio tends to beep every so often as if the vco wants to unlock.
 

xpr8300

Prolific Contributor
CS Forums $upporter
Joined
Mar 1, 2012
Messages
678
Since the last time I used FPP in the 450-460 range, which was about 2 years ago, I've added channels via PCC I have version 2.10.2 of PCC. I did get the options updated recently, but however, the FPP issue I have encountered was occurring even before that. I've used PCC version 2.10.2 since I got the radio.

I tried editing good ole UCAL40 in my radio and it says "INVALID" but it still keeps the 458.21250 in the radio.

Did you change anything in your radio ie firmware, options etc between being able to FPP in and out of the ham band? I am trying to chase down what the trigger could have been. PCC 2.10.2 could have been a change, but before i start downgrading my firmware and PCC i want to try to narrow it down a bit.
 
OP
WQNV648

WQNV648

Prolific Contributor
Joined
Jun 8, 2012
Messages
266
I received the radio from 2 years ago with FPP perfectly enabled and everything...and I was given 2.10.2 to use it with in the first place actually. It wasn't until recently I started playing around with options and firmware after I discovered the FPP issue.
 

Alpha

T¹ ÆS Ø - Moderator, CS Forums $upporter
Staff member
CS Forums $upporter
Joined
Feb 12, 2012
Messages
2,755
I might have found some insight on the 450 FPP thing. On reading the service manual, the UHF Low split used to be 403-470. The UHF R1 boards (probably the imported Moto ones) are NLA according to the manual, so they were replaced by 380-450 split boards. THIS IS IT, somehow the change in band splits for the UHF low must have moved the FPP limit from 470 down to 450.

As to why, that remains to be seen...
 

synegy3488

Prolific Contributor
CS Forums $upporter
Joined
Mar 14, 2012
Messages
157
I don't mean to intentially revive a necro'd thread but I have a slight bit of insight after playing with PCC for a few days (bought a EFJ 5100 51SL). It seems that there are 2 different codeplug types for the UHF Lo radios. Per PCC you can convert the codeplug between UHF 380 and UHF Low, the difference it seems is it moves the band edge from 380 to 403 (and vice versa).

I don't have a radio in front of me (it won't be here till Friday :-/) so I can't check, but, perhaps the FPP limits have to do with the type of codeplug pushed into the radio? (i.e. pushing a UHF 380 plug moves the FPP range from 407 to 470 to 380 to 450)
 
Status