• If posting about a radio issue: Include the HOST, DSP and UCM/secure firmware versions, flashcode and CPS version you're using along with the operating system info. This is critical information.

Max scan lists xtl radios

Status
Not open for further replies.

gjhamilton

Prolific Contributor
CS Forums $upporter
Joined
Oct 23, 2012
Messages
343
What are the maximum number of scan lists on the Xtl radios.
 

Notarola

Prolific Contributor
CS Forums $upporter
Joined
Feb 4, 2012
Messages
2,165
It is 16 conventional 10 TG trunked. there is a mod posted in the ASTRO forums to increase the 10TG to 16.
 

Alpha

T¹ ÆS Ø - Moderator, CS Forums $upporter
Staff member
CS Forums $upporter
Joined
Feb 12, 2012
Messages
2,758
I think he means TOTAL number of lists, I think that's either 16 or 20 or so.
 

Bigfella237

Ø Tactical OTAR Slayer
Joined
May 16, 2012
Messages
474
I just opened an XTL5000 codeplug, ++'d the scanlists and it's allowing me a maximum of 200 scanlists.

I'm unsure about the lower tier radios?
 

Alpha

T¹ ÆS Ø - Moderator, CS Forums $upporter
Staff member
CS Forums $upporter
Joined
Feb 12, 2012
Messages
2,758
Wow. I think the 20 limit was for the Astro Saber/Astro Spectra/XTS3000 series of radios. Thanks!
 
OP
gjhamilton

gjhamilton

Prolific Contributor
CS Forums $upporter
Joined
Oct 23, 2012
Messages
343
That's what I wanted to know. Yes. Alpha it is 20 on Astros. I wonder if you can get 200 on a 1500
 
J

jlamanske

Guest
Maybe the huge number is to accommodate FPP? Since each has its own personality, maybe you can slave a scan list to each. I wonder if you could get all the way up to 840 as the number of channels a 2500 can handle.
 

Alpha

T¹ ÆS Ø - Moderator, CS Forums $upporter
Staff member
CS Forums $upporter
Joined
Feb 12, 2012
Messages
2,758
Maybe the huge number is to accommodate FPP? Since each has its own personality, maybe you can slave a scan list to each. I wonder if you could get all the way up to 840 as the number of channels a 2500 can handle.

Then it would likely be 240 or 255. Go figure. No, they probably thought, let's give it 10x what the previous generation had...

As for the 1500, that's a brain-damaged piece of goods, so it's hard to say if it's not "crippled" to be lower-tier. Someone will have to experiment and find out...
 
OP
gjhamilton

gjhamilton

Prolific Contributor
CS Forums $upporter
Joined
Oct 23, 2012
Messages
343
So the 1500 is not a good radio? Should I try to find a 2500 or 5k?
 

Alpha

T¹ ÆS Ø - Moderator, CS Forums $upporter
Staff member
CS Forums $upporter
Joined
Feb 12, 2012
Messages
2,758
They are the exact same hardware as an XTS2500. Some people have had luck hacking them to accept an XTS2500 codeplug, but that's not for discussion here. The 1500 may be attractive because it's usually much more cheaply available then the fully-featured 2500's. The 5k has even more features than the 2500, but that is an entirely different hardware platform.
 

Bigfella237

Ø Tactical OTAR Slayer
Joined
May 16, 2012
Messages
474
Remember we're talking about mobile radios here so FPP doesn't come into it.

I just had a look at some more codeplugs, ALL tiers of XTL (5000, 2500 & 1500) allow me to have up to 200 scanlists.

I don't have an ASTRO Spectra Plus or PM1500 codeplug to look at so can't verify those models, and the HPD1000 does not have any scan feature whatsoever.
 

Bigfella237

Ø Tactical OTAR Slayer
Joined
May 16, 2012
Messages
474
Interesting... "G387 - Conventional Voting Scan" appears to be a valid flashcode option for the HPD1000 (it's included in the test codeplug someone sent me) but without a "Scanlists" menu in CPS there's no way to implement it?

I guess HPD modems aren't designed to be mobile?
 

tvsjr

Prolific Contributor
Joined
Oct 7, 2012
Messages
275
Then it would likely be 240 or 255. Go figure. No, they probably thought, let's give it 10x what the previous generation had...

As for the 1500, that's a brain-damaged piece of goods, so it's hard to say if it's not "crippled" to be lower-tier. Someone will have to experiment and find out...

The OP did say XTL, not XTS... so FPP (and most of the other assumptions made in this thread) wouldn't apply.

The XTS1500 is definitely brain-damaged. The XTL1500 makes for a good monitor radio or base station, as long as the Enhanced Software Capabilities option is flashed in.
 

Forts

Prolific Contributor
CS Forums $upporter
Joined
Aug 6, 2012
Messages
835
I just opened up an XTL1500 codeplug and the scan lists maxed out at 200. Zones maxed out at 30.
 

Bigfella237

Ø Tactical OTAR Slayer
Joined
May 16, 2012
Messages
474
Just for the sake of interest, does anyone have a PM1500 and/or ASTRO Spectra Plus codeplug to try?
 

triptolemus

T¹ ÆS Ø - Moderator
Staff member
CS Forums $upporter
Joined
Dec 15, 2012
Messages
1,495
Confirmed. Just checked a Spectra Plus Model D04RKF9SW4AN. Tops out at 64 scan lists.

a BN model I checked... also 64 scan lists.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.