• If posting about a radio issue: Include the HOST, DSP and UCM/secure firmware versions, flashcode and CPS version you're using along with the operating system info. This is critical information.

MT2000 255 modes?

Status

Randy's

Contributing Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2012
Messages
30
I know this is probably off topic, but does anyone know how to hex edit a S-rec or codeplug to change a 160 channel MT2000 to 255 channels? Thanks, Randy.
 
Last edited:
L

Les Grossman

Not Registered
You should be able to do it with DEPOT, or LAB RSS. Do you have one or the other or both?

LG
 
OP
R

Randy's

Contributing Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2012
Messages
30
I have depot R2.00.01. I did some research a while back, but I could never figure how to do it with that version.
 

Magnus

Prolific Contributor
CS Forums $upporter
Joined
Dec 12, 2011
Messages
1,240
I'm thinking you are wanting ver 3 to do that, you will need to create a new codeplug with the 255 mode option.
 

cyrus

Trailer Park Superintendent
Staff member
CS Forums $upporter
Joined
Jan 5, 2012
Messages
986
Or find a codeplug with 255 modes and jam it in.
 

Notarola

Prolific Contributor
CS Forums $upporter
Joined
Feb 4, 2012
Messages
2,256
here are the basic steps to load a s-record to your radio. Run the program

1 From the Main menu select F3 then F6.
2 select the s-record you want.
3 Press F2 to read the archive without unpack. If you unpack it you will mess up the file and have to start over.
4 From the Main menu select F3 then F4 then F8 then F8 to write the radios internal and external codeplugs.
5 When this is done, the radio will now be an exact copy of the srecord you selected.
6 To change the serial number read the radio, save the file, open the file and select F5 clone. Enter in your s/n. write the radio.
 
L

Les Grossman

Not Registered
If you are able to locate MTSX LABTOOL (R03.00.02 is what I have) you can just read the codeplug and make the changes and then pack it and load it as an Srecord. That way there is no need to re-tune as you have used your original codeplug. Here is the steps.

READ AND SAVE A SRECORD FROM YOUR RADIO NOW!! (sorry for the shouting, but it is an important step before any cp editing)

Read the codeplug as normal (if you get codeplug too new error use your MTSX Depot to do a read/write to change the codeplug version so LAB will read it)

Go back to the Main Menu Then,

F4 Change/Create Codeplug. Then,

F2 Create Default Codeplug. Don't change anything in this window. Then,

F9 Model Options. Then,

F2 General Model Capabilities.

Now you should be looking at the screen where you change the number of channels. Tab over to the "Max Modes Allowed" line and edit it for 255. Then,

Exit all the way back to the Main Menu (should be four "F10" steps) then,

F3 for the get/save menu. Then,

F6 for the Archive/Srecord Disk Files menu. Then,

Name your file. Then,

F8 Write Srecords Menu. Then,

F5 Pack Srecord

F10 back one to the the Archive/Srecord Disk Files menu. Then,

F4 Read Srecord. Then,

F10 back to the get/save/program menu. Then,

F4 Read/Write Radio with No Pack/Unpack. Then,

F8 to write the Srecord.

Good Luck..

LG
 

synegy3488

Prolific Contributor
CS Forums $upporter
Joined
Mar 14, 2012
Messages
157
I'm assuming that there is a hack or fix for the LAB tool? When trying to create a codeplug it tries to communicate with an SRIB (which I don't have).
 

Magnus

Prolific Contributor
CS Forums $upporter
Joined
Dec 12, 2011
Messages
1,240
What version and of what tool are you trying to use?
 

Notarola

Prolific Contributor
CS Forums $upporter
Joined
Feb 4, 2012
Messages
2,256
Warning the information listed below is for referance only read them at your own risk. We are not responsible for anything you do or dont do.

Les Grossmans steps are what you need to follow
.
While in the create codeplug portion of the program dont forget to add in any other features you need like signalling , trunked/conventional operation etc. Once your happy with your options scroll back to the main create codeplug screen (the one with the model number and serial number slots) and hit F2.

Note pay attention to where the file is saved along with the name of it.

A second warning if you mess up the codeplug you can brick your unit. Many features require a matching flash or even command board. Les is correct before doing anything create your s-record back up.
 
Last edited:
OP
R

Randy's

Contributing Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2012
Messages
30
I'll second Notarolas post, I followed Les Grossmans steps to the tee, worked like a charm, Randy
 
W

Will

Not Registered
If you are able to locate MTSX LABTOOL (R03.00.02 is what I have) you can just read the codeplug and make the changes and then pack it and load it as an Srecord. That way there is no need to re-tune as you have used your original codeplug. Here is the steps.

LG

Would this work to change a MT2000 15 key into a 6 key Model II? I tried one of the RSS and it did not work, maybe missed something.

No other changes are needed on this radio, one of my pets....
 

Notarola

Prolific Contributor
CS Forums $upporter
Joined
Feb 4, 2012
Messages
2,256
Yes you can use the tool to do that although it would be easier to dump a srecord to the radio. Read/save your existing codeplug/srecord and tuning info before changing anything. Dont forget to match the band etc on the codeplug you dump to the radio. Not too sure why you would be wanting to downgrade though but each to his own.
 
W

Will

Not Registered
<snip> Not too sure why you would be wanting to downgrade though but each to his own.

I prefer the six key front and do not need all the other keys. The lower key row, on the 15 key, gets bumped too easily.

And it is a challenge...

I am not changing anything except for the keypad. I did try last year to do a new cp in a socalled lab, but that did not work, put orig cp back in radio and it is still working with the 15 key pad.
 
Last edited:
Status