• If posting about a radio issue: Include the HOST, DSP and UCM/secure firmware versions, flashcode and CPS version you're using along with the operating system info. This is critical information.

New to P25 Forum & just purchased a MCS2000 III

Status
W

wallwmw

Not Registered
This forum looks great for helping me learn how to operate and program my recently purchased MCS2000 Model III 30 watt radio. I am in the market for a Motorola RIB and cable for my radio. Any suggestions are appreciated.
 

JeepFrog

Contributing Member
Joined
Jun 11, 2012
Messages
95
A cheap way to get started is a rib-less cable from Ebay. You don't need a RIB for most newer series radios so might not be worth the effort to get one. Depends what other radios you want to mess with in the future. Batlabs has some schematics if you want to try to build one.
 

Notarola

Prolific Contributor
CS Forums $upporter
Joined
Feb 4, 2012
Messages
2,256
Ebay is the best bet. I have been using a ribbed cable with no issues for years.
 

Mototom

Contributing Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2012
Messages
57
A cheap way to get started is a rib-less cable from Ebay. You don't need a RIB for most newer series radios so might not be worth the effort to get one. Depends what other radios you want to mess with in the future. Batlabs has some schematics if you want to try to build one.

I don't think there is a ribless cable available for the MCS2000 series. A rib with the correct cables is needed.
 

Notarola

Prolific Contributor
CS Forums $upporter
Joined
Feb 4, 2012
Messages
2,256
There are some "created" cables with a MX232 chip inside that simulates the rib.
 
OP
G

gfdyoda

Not Registered
i did not know there was a ribless cable for an mcs2000
 
Status