• If posting about a radio issue: Include the HOST, DSP and UCM/secure firmware versions, flashcode and CPS version you're using along with the operating system info. This is critical information.

Problem with Astro Saber and S records

Status

cackis

Regular Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2012
Messages
17
Good evening all,

I'm trying to restore my Astro Saber VHF (1 meg) after getting a Fail 02/90 error. I replaced the vocon with one I aquired off Ebay. I now get a fail 01/92 on the screen when I turn it on. I know the vocon is from an 800 radio and is 1 meg so I am trying to restore it using an VHF S record I got from this site. I tried using astrolab and MTSX lab (version 02.00.01 I think) but I can't figure out what I'm doing wrong. I go by the steps listed on this site and batlabs. I have the s record on a floppy disk and I can't seem to figure out how to properly get loaded into lab and how to write it to the radio. I know I did this years ago to restore an MTS2000 from an S record but can't seem to find out what I'm doing wrong. I searched this site an the internet without finding the specifics of what I need to do. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Jim
 

Notarola

Prolific Contributor
CS Forums $upporter
Joined
Feb 4, 2012
Messages
2,256
this will read your good srecord and program it into the radio using v2.00.01 MTSXlab from main menu F6>F4>F10>F4>F8
 
OP
C

cackis

Regular Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2012
Messages
17
Thank you for the info. I'll give it a shot when I get home and let you know how I make out.

Jim
 
OP
C

cackis

Regular Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2012
Messages
17
Ok, I fired up the computer tonight and tried to do it but no good. I hit F6 from the main menu which brought me to the File Maintenance Menu but there is no F4 listed. I even tried hitting F4 in case it was there but was hidden or something but nothing. Any ideas?

Jim
 

JMR061

Prolific Contributor
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
396
What software are you using? If you use IM's at all I am kb9kst on YIM and AIM.
 
OP
C

cackis

Regular Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2012
Messages
17
I got it to work. Thank you again to all.

Jim
 

JMR061

Prolific Contributor
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
396
Using astro lab from main menu go F3 (read/write) -> F6 (arch/srec)
Type in the directory and file name (my format is usually C:/XXXX.S1)
F4 (read s-rec)
Now it should say in the upper right that the s-rec was read successfully. If not you have a problem (bad s-rec, wrong directory/file name, etc)
F10 (exit) to back out one menu level you should now be in get/save/program menu
F4 (merge tcms)->F8 (write t o radio) It should now write the s-record into the radio.

Posted for info.
 
Status